Professional Authors

Fundamentals of Buddhist Psychotherapy


In Buddhism, there are fundamentals of Buddhist Psychotherapy as follow: (1) Greed, Hatred, and Delusion, (2) Five groups of grasping, (3) Morality, Concentration, Wisdom, (4) Four Noble Truths, (5) Tadaṅga, Vikkhambhana, Samuccheda pahāna, (6) Four kinds of Food, (7) Kamma and (8) Sabbāsavasutta. Of them, the first group mentions about greed, hatred and delusion. We must understand them deeply as fundamental matters. In Visuddhimagga, we get six factors regarding with the character analysis of Lobha, Dosa, Moha, Saddā, Budhi and Vitakka.  

When Akusala roots are analyzed with final goal, in Buddhism they are always negative but they have always positive for worldling level. When greed is positive development it is enlightened to keep on from Dosa to Buddhi and Moha to Vitakka. Otherwise, there are four matters: Kamma, Citta, Utu, and Ahara in the Abhidhamma. These are the causes from one into another because of changed personality as Kamma. Citta mean consciousness influence the body it can changed due to the process also Utu the environment, everything change by one. Ahara, the body changes from one because of psychophysical problem. There is one to treat physical and mental problem associated with one by one.

In Buddhism, there are five aggregates: matter, feeling, perception, mental and consciousness. In general, they associate with the mental and physical. Here mental are analysis into physical too. Thus, there are called fundamentals of Buddhist psychotherapy in field. Likewise, Lobha, Dosa, Moha, Alobha, Adoso, and Amoha are fundamental ground to examine whether wholesome or unwholesome. Anyhow, we could not develop anything without greed but Buddhism also does not deny it and in relation to the final goal but we must destroy Lobha so on. Otherwise, there are three Pahāna, Tadangapahāna, Vikhambanapahāna and Samuccedapahāna. They apply to respective with Sīla, Samādhi and Panna to get rid of mental problems.

Likewise, we have two approaching in Buddhism. There is behavioral approaching and cognitive. If you want to go to Majjhima Nikāya, you see the Sabbāsava Sutra. Sabbāsava mean all kinds of cankers. The way to eradicate all cankers, desire and this is the way to realization of Nibbāba. Otherwise, Sīla mean good conduct also Samādhi and Paññā. If you can’t give cognitive development, you can’t have insight meditation but to come to Samatha and Vipassanā advised Sīla.

And Samatha Vipassanā means cognitive modification also Bhāvanā is here very importance. But we see many ways to get rid of mental disorders and abnormal behaviors are psychiatry and such Sutra. Hence, Kamma mean cause and effect theory of Buddhist psychotherapy. They are much unsatisfactoriness in world to connect with economic and all but from morning to night people are facing problems. They are difference each other such and such of color, power and fortune because of Kamma.

In conclusion of Satipathana Sutra, the Buddha taught the four Noble truths as follow. Dukkha, Samudaya, Magga, and Nirodha Saccā. Often I find that people have trouble with this practice because they are watching their thoughts, or their breath, from the vantage point of their personal consciousness rather than, as Buddha suggests, from a vantage point where consciousness is carried beyond its functioning as a personal witness. Therefore having proceeded through the three previous Satipathanas and having arrived at the fourth, one need now, once more, to proceed watching one’s body, mind psychotherapy and personality from the vantage point attained in the fourth Satipathana to reach realization of Nibbana.



In: English Essay Posted By: Date: Sep 10, 2011

Leave Comments


Email me whenever there is new comment